Skip to Content

Public outcry about the overturn of Roe v. Wade

EL PASO, Texas - In 1973, the United States Supreme Court voted in favor of protecting a women's right to have an abortion in the United States at the Federal level. For nearly 50 years, abortion rights were legal across the states. That is until June 24, 2022, when the U.S. Supreme Court overturned that decision, allowing abortion rights to be controlled at the state level.

Now, individual states can decide how they want to deal with abortions. States can now decide if it should be legal or illegal to have an abortion in their state. Some states are predicted to keep it legal such as: Washington, Oregon, California, Nevada, New Mexico, Colorado, Minnesota, Illinois, New York, New Jersey, Delaware, Connecticut, Rhode Island, Vermont, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, and Maine.

On the other hand, several states are likely to ban the right to have an abortion such as: South Carolina, Georgia, Alabama, Louisiana, Texas, Mississippi, Arkansas, Oklahoma, Missouri, Tennessee, Kansas, Indiana, Ohio, West Virginia, Iowa, the Dakotas, Wyoming, Idaho, and Utah.

The fate of the remaining states is unknown on what their stance will be regarding abortion.

ABC-7 wants to hear your opinions on the matter. If you know of an anti-abortion protest or a pro-choice protest happening today, send an email to to let us know the details of when and where.

Article Topic Follows: Top Stories

Katie Frazier

Katie Frazier is an ABC-7 meteorologist and reporter.


KVIA ABC 7 is committed to providing a forum for civil and constructive conversation.

Please keep your comments respectful and relevant. You can review our Community Guidelines by clicking here

If you would like to share a story idea, please submit it here.

Skip to content