Skip to Content

New Mexico St. wins WAC Commissioner’s Cup

DENVER – The Western Athletic Conference today announced the winner of its annual Commissioner’s Cup with this year’s honor going to NM State with 90.25 points, just half a point ahead of second-place Utah Valley. The Aggies finished the year with 10 WAC championships, winning postseason titles in volleyball, women’s basketball, women’s golf and men’s tennis. The volleyball, women’s basketball, men’s basketball, men’s tennis, women’s tennis and softball teams claimed regular season titles.

The WAC awards its Commissioner’s Cup to the school that performs the best in each of the conference’s 19 men’s and women’s championships. Points are awarded in order of finish, equal to the number of teams that participate in each sport and are averaged between a team’s regular season finish (if applicable) and its WAC championship finish. Teams that do not qualify for a postseason tournament due to a smaller field receive postseason points equal to their regular season finish. Teams that are ineligible for the postseason receive zero postseason points but can still earn regular season points. Ties are not broken but instead are averaged between the tied teams. Affiliate members are not eligible for the Commissioner’s Cup but their standings are still used for determining points.

Utah Valley finished in second place with 89.75 points. The Wolverines won four WAC postseason titles in men’s cross country, women’s cross country, women’s soccer and baseball.

Seattle U rounded out the top three with 85.50 points, claiming four titles on the year. The Redhawks claimed regular season titles in women’s soccer, men’s soccer and baseball, with the men’s soccer team claiming the postseason title as well.

Missouri-Kansas City was fourth with 79.75 points. The ‘Roos finished with postseason titles in men’s golf and men’s tennis.

Grand Canyon finished fifth with 67.50 points despite not being eligible for a number of WAC championships due to NCAA rules during its Division I transition period. The Lopes swept the men’s and women’s indoor and track and field championships and men’s and women’s outdoor track and field championships.

CSU Bakersfield was sixth with 60 points, winning postseason titles in men’s basketball and softball. UT Rio Grande Valley was seventh with 53 points, winning the women’s tennis postseason title. Chicago State was eighth with 20 points.

Article Topic Follows: News

Jump to comments ↓

Author Profile Photo



KVIA ABC 7 is committed to providing a forum for civil and constructive conversation.

Please keep your comments respectful and relevant. You can review our Community Guidelines by clicking here

If you would like to share a story idea, please submit it here.

Skip to content