Skip to Content

What fireworks are allowed in El Paso, Dona Ana and Otero counties? Here are the answers

EL PASO, Texas -- With 4th of July just around the corner, fireworks stand operators want residents and visitors to the Borderland to know what fireworks are allowed and where.

El Paso County has banned the use of aerial fireworks with sticks and missiles with fins, also known “sticks and fins."

In Dona Ana County and the city of Las Cruces, only cone fountains, crackling devices, cylindrical fountains, flitter sparklers, ground spinners, illuminating torches, toy smoking devices and wheels are allowed. Ariel fireworks are only legal with a permit.

In Otero Country, officials announced due to recent rains that the ban on all fireworks sales there has now been lifted. That announcement was welcome news to area fireworks distributors.

"The rains came in in millions of gallons.  It's really saved the industry, it's saved sales and I believe it should really make people very happy to come out and shoot some fireworks," said Fernando Villamontes, the area's manager for TNT Fireworks.

Villamontes added, "I don't believe you have a fire danger anymore which is a wonderful thing."

Article Topic Follows: Local News

Wil Herren

Wil Herren is an ABC-7 reporter who covers both news and sports.


KVIA ABC 7 is committed to providing a forum for civil and constructive conversation.

Please keep your comments respectful and relevant. You can review our Community Guidelines by clicking here

If you would like to share a story idea, please submit it here.

Skip to content