Skip to Content

New Mexico State releases men’s 2022-23 basketball schedule

nmsu basketball schedule pic 1
Courtesy: NMSU Athletics

(Courtesy: NMSU Athletics)

LAS CRUCES, New Mexico - The full slate for the new-look Aggies has officially been finalized.

The complete schedule that Head Coach Greg Heiar announced Tuesday morning features 13 non-conference games.

The roster of opponents is highlighted by potential matchups against three programs that have made at least one NCAA Tournament appearance in the last five seasons.

Included in that group is a pair of squads in Saint Mary's and UC Irvine that, like the Aggies, have won an NCAA Tournament game in the last three years.

The Gaels also headline a pair of programs on the Aggies' schedule that finished the season inside the top 100 of the men's basketball NET rankings in 2021-22 as Saint Mary's came in at 19 and Santa Clara finished 70th in the NCAA's main classification system.

Before competing in games that will be tracked by the Aggies' win-loss record, Aggie Nation will have a chance to watch the Aggies compete in the Crimson & White intrasquad scrimmage on Oct. 20 inside the Pan American Center.

NM State's final tune-up session will then come on Wednesday, Nov. 2, when it hosts in-state foe Western New Mexico for an exhibition match.

The regular season will begin on Monday, Nov. 7, when Lou Henson Court will serve as the site for a clash between the Aggies and the Cowboys of New Mexico Highlands.

Following the home opener, the Crimson and White will prepare for a pair of road contests against rivals UTEP and New Mexico with a week separating the two meetings.

The Aggies will visit El Paso, Texas, to take on the Miners on Saturday, Nov. 12, before heading north for a collision with the Lobos on Nov. 19.

Next on the docket for the Aggies will be the first of two non-conference multi-team events as they make the voyage to the Entertainment Capital of the World for the Las Vegas Invitational during Thanksgiving weekend.

The Aggies will open the two-day tournament against San Diego on Nov. 25. Then, depending on Friday's result, the Aggies will play either UC Irvine or Nicholls State on Saturday, Nov. 26.

NM State will then conclude its yearly dose of rivalry matchups as UTEP comes to the City of Crosses on Wednesday, Nov. 30, before New Mexico steps foot into the Pan Am on Saturday, Dec. 7.

The Aggies will then enter a road stretch in which it will be challenged by a pair of West Coast Conference powerhouses as they visit Santa Clara (Dec. 7) and Saint Mary's (Dec. 14).

NM State will also split its California contests with a trip to Pittsburgh to take on Duquesne on Dec. 11.

Following the trio of games away from home, NM State will return to the friendly confines of the Pan Am to host Northern New Mexico on Sunday, Dec. 18.

Heiar and his squad will then wrap up non-conference play at the 2022 WestStar Don Haskins Sun Bowl Invitational.

The Aggies will open play in El Paso with a fixture against Kent State on Wednesday, Dec. 21. Whom the Aggies will draw on Dec. 22 will be dependent on the result of the meeting with the Golden Flashes as they could either face UTEP for the third time or find themselves competing against North Carolina A&T.

Following the Aggies' participation in the Sun Bowl Invitational, the Aggies will take a six-day break before heading into an 18-game Western Athletic Conference schedule. NM State will open conference play on Wednesday, Dec. 28, at home against Southern Utah.

Season tickets for the Aggies' 2022-23 slate are on sale now and can be purchased by calling the Pan American Center ticket office at 575-646-1420 or by stopping by from 8:30 a.m.-6:00 p.m. to purchase tickets in-person Monday-Friday. Fans wishing to purchase their season tickets online may do so by visiting this link.

For complete coverage of NM State men's basketball as the Aggies prepare to tip off their 2022-23 season, visit NMStateSports.com - the official home of Aggie athletics - and follow the Aggies on Facebook (NM State Men's Basketball), Twitter (@NMStateMBB) and Instagram (@NMStateMBB).

Complete 2022-23 Men's Basketball Schedule
Thursday, Oct. 20 – Crimson & White
Wednesday, Nov. 2 vs. – Western New Mexico (EXH)
Monday, Nov. 7 vs.  – New Mexico Highlands
Saturday, Nov. 12 – at UTEP
Saturday, Nov. 19 – at New Mexico
^Friday, Nov. 25 – vs. San Diego
^Saturday, Nov. 26 – vs. UC Irvine/Nicholls State
Wednesday, Nov. 30 vs. – vs. UTEP
Saturday, Dec. 3 vs. – New Mexico
Wednesday, Dec. 7 – at Santa Clara
Sunday, Dec. 11 – at Duquesne
Wednesday, Dec. 14 – at Saint Mary's
Sunday, Dec. 18 – vs. Northern New Mexico
#Wednesday, Dec. 21 – vs. Kent State
#Thursday, Dec. 22 – vs. UTEP/N.C. A&T
*Wednesday, Dec. 28 – vs. Southern Utah
*Saturday, Dec. 31 vs. – Sam Houston State
*Wednesday, Jan. 4 – at Stephen F. Austin
*Saturday, Jan. 7 vs. California Baptist
*Thursday, Jan. 12 – at Seattle U
*Saturday, Jan. 14 – vs. UT Arlington
*Thursday, Jan. 19 – at Southern Utah
*Saturday, Jan. 21 – at Utah Tech
*Saturday, Jan. 28 – at Utah Valley
*Thursday, Feb. 2 – vs. Stephen F. Austin
*Saturday, Feb. 4 – vs. Seattle U
*Thursday, Feb. 9 – at Grand Canyon
*Saturday, Feb. 11 – at California Baptist
*Wednesday, Feb. 15 – vs. Abilene Christian
*Saturday, Feb. 18 – vs. UT Rio Grande Valley
*Tuesday, Feb. 21 – vs. Grand Canyon
*Wednesday, March 1 – at Abilene Christian
*Friday, March 3 – at Tarleton

Bold indicates home game

Article Topic Follows: Sports
Author Profile Photo

Adrian Ochoa

Adrian Ochoa is ABC-7’s Sports Director.

BE PART OF THE CONVERSATION

KVIA ABC 7 is committed to providing a forum for civil and constructive conversation.

Please keep your comments respectful and relevant. You can review our Community Guidelines by clicking here

If you would like to share a story idea, please submit it here.

Skip to content