Skip to Content

Sun Bowl

As bowl games have come and gone, the Sun Bowl has stayed strong decade after decade.

For 75 years, top collegiate teams have traveled to El Paso to play in the Sun Bowl. The teams and their fans come for the bowl game, but leave with stories of the city’s legendary hospitality, delectable food, pleasant weather, and majestic sunsets.

The first Sun Bowl was played on Jan. 1, 1935 as a way to raise funds for the improvements to the El Paso High School stadium. Over the years, the Sun Bowl has continued to grow and has become one of the top bowls in the nation with teams from the PAC-10, Big 10, Big 12, among others playing in the game.

NFL stars, such as Tony Dorsett, Thurman Thomas, Priest Holmes, Cornelius Bennett, and Derrick Thomas, are just some of the players who’ve showcased their talents at the Sun Bowl over the years.

The 76th Brut Sun Bowl on Thursday will feature emerging PAC-10 powerhouse Stanford with Heisman Trophy runner-up Toby Gerhart versus the steeped-in-tradition Oklahoma and its vaunted defensive line.

The showdown begins at high noon.

Article Topic Follows: News

Jump to comments ↓

Author Profile Photo



KVIA ABC 7 is committed to providing a forum for civil and constructive conversation.

Please keep your comments respectful and relevant. You can review our Community Guidelines by clicking here

If you would like to share a story idea, please submit it here.

Skip to content