Skip to Content

UTEP?s Matt Camilli and Ian Campbell Named All-Conference USA Selections

EL PASO ? UTEP senior LS Matt Camilli was named to the 2011 All-Conference USA first team as voted on by league coaches, as announced Tuesday. Junior P Ian Campbell was selected to the second team. Additionally, OL Jerel Watkins and TE Eric Tomlinson were appointed to the C-USA All-Freshman team.

Camilli served as the Miners? long snapper for punts, field goals and PATs. UTEP did not have a punt blocked in 48 attempts. He registered two tackles on special teams.

A Ray Guy Award semifinalist, Campbell ranks first in C-USA and fourth nationally in punting with an average of 46.3 yards, kicking 48 times for a total of 2,214 yards. Campbell had 18 punts covering 50+ yards and averaged at least 50 yards in three games (54.8 vs. Stony Brook; 54.7 vs. Colorado State; 50.6 vs. Houston). The California native registered 16 punts inside the 20-yard line and had five punts fair caught and five touchbacks. Campbell averaged 44.9 yards per game in C-USA only contests.

Watkins started and played in all 12 games for the Miners. He helped UTEP rank tied for second nationally in long plays of 70+ yards, tied for sixth with plays of 60+ yards, and tied for 15th nationally in plays of 50+ yards from scrimmage. The Miners scored 18 rushing touchdowns in the red zone. UTEP had four players with 150+ yards rushing in 2011.

Tomlinson recorded six catches for 83 yards and two touchdowns. He averaged 13.8 yards per catch and had multiple receptions against East Carolina while posting a career-best 35 yards against the Pirates.

The Miners’ honorable mention All-League honorees include senior RB Joe Banyard, senior OL Nathan McCage, junior OL Eloy Atkinson, senior DL Bernard Obi, senior LB Isaiah Carter, senior DB Antwon Blake and senior KR Vernon Frazier.




OFFENSE QB- Case Keenum, Sr., Houston RB- Zach Line, Jr., SMU RB- Charles Sims, So., Houston OL- Clint Anderson, Sr., Tulsa OL- Kelvin Beachum, Sr., SMU OL- Lamar Holmes, Sr., Southern Miss OL- Matt McCants, Sr., UAB OL- Chris Thompson, Sr., Houston TE- Justin Johnson, Sr., Houston WR- Cole Beasley, Sr., SMU WR- Patrick Edwards, Sr., Houston WR- Darius Johnson, Jr., SMU

DEFENSE DL- Vinny Curry, Sr., Marshall DL- Tyrunn Walker, Sr., Tulsa DL- Cordarro Law, Sr., Southern Miss DL- Taylor Thompson, Sr., SMU LB- Curnelius Arnick, Sr., Tulsa LB- Sammy Brown, Sr., Houston LB- Trent Mackey, Jr., Tulane DB- Omar Brown, Sr., Marshall DB- Richard Crawford, Sr., SMU DB- Marquese Wheaton, Sr., Southern Miss DB- Josh Robinson, Jr., UCF

SPECIAL TEAMS K- Kevin Fitzpatrick, Sr., Tulsa P- Kyle Martens, Sr., Rice KR- Rannell Hall, Fr., UCF PR- Tracy Lampley, Sr., Southern Miss LS- Matt Camilli, Sr., UTEP


OFFENSE QB- Austin Davis, Sr., Southern Miss QB- G.J. Kinne, Sr., Tulsa RB- Orleans Darkwa, So., Tulane RB- Ja?Terian Douglas, So., Tulsa OL- Jacoby Ashworth, Jr., Houston OL- Joe Duhon, Jr., Southern Miss OL- Ron Leary, Sr., Memphis OL- Nick Pieschel, Sr., UCF OL- Jason Weaver, Sr., Southern Miss TE- Clay Sears, Sr., Tulsa WR-Tyron Carrier, Sr., Houston WR-Willie Carter, Jr., Tulsa WR-Lance Lewis, Sr., East Carolina

DEFENSE DL- Marquis Frazier, Sr., SMU DL- Dezman Moses, Sr., Tulane DL- Dontari Poe, Jr., Memphis DL- Scott Solomon, Sr., Rice LB- Ja?Gared Davis, Sr., SMU LB- Marcus McGraw, Sr., Houston LB- Taylor Reed, Jr., SMU DB- Jamie Bender, Sr., UAB DB- Emanuel Davis, Jr., East Carolina DB- D.J. Hayden, Jr., Houston DB- Dexter McCoil, Jr., Tulsa

SPECIAL TEAMS K- Danny Hrapmann, Sr., Southern Miss P- Ian Campbell, Jr., UTEP KR- Tyron Carrier, Sr., Houston PR- Patrick Edwards, Sr., Houston LS- Charley Hughlett, Sr., UCF


OFFENSE RB- Michael Hayes, Sr., Houston RB- Tyler Smith, Sr., Rice RB- Trey Watts, So., Tulsa RB- Joe Banyard, Sr., UTEP OL- Kevin Forsch, So., Houston OL- Ryan Tillman, Sr., Marshall OL- Bryce Tennison, Sr., SMU OL- Kelly Turner, Sr., SMU OL- Harris Howard, Sr., Tulane OL- Tyler Holmes, Sr., Tulsa OL- Chris Hubbard, Jr., UAB OL- Theo Goins, Jr., UCF OL- Jordan Rae, Jr., UCF OL- Nathan McCage, Sr., UTEP OL- Eloy Atkinson, Jr., UTEP TE- Luke Willson, Jr., Tulane TE- Adam Nissley, Sr., UCF WR- Aaron Dobson, Jr., Marshall WR- Tanner Rehrer, Sr., Memphis WR- Ryan Balentine, Sr., Southern Miss WR- Kelvin Bolden, Sr., Southern Miss WR- Tracy Lampley, Sr., Southern Miss WR- Jackie Williams, So., UAB

DEFENSE DL- Frank Trotter, Sr., Memphis DL- Torian Pittman, Jr., SMU DL- Margus Hunt, Jr., SMU DL- Cory Dorris, Jr., Tulsa DL- Elliott Henigan, Sr., UAB DL- Victor Gray, So., UCF DL- Bernard Obi, Sr., UTEP LB- Jeremy Grove, Fr., East Carolina LB- Cameron Nwosu, So., Rice LB- Jamie Collins, Jr., Southern Miss LB- Ronnie Thornton, Sr., Southern Miss LB- Shawn Jackson, So., Tulsa LB- Isaiah Carter, Sr., UTEP DB- Paul Porras, So., Rice DB- Bryce Callahan, Fr., Rice DB- Chris Banjo, Sr., SMU DB- Kendrick Presley, Sr., Southern Miss DB- Ryan Travis, Jr., Tulane DB- Milton Howell, Sr., Tulsa DB- Marco Nelson, So., Tulsa DB- Kemal Ishmael, Jr., UCF DB- Antwon Blake, Sr., UTEP

SPECIAL TEAMS K- Matt Hogan, Jr., Houston K- Chris Boswell, So., Rice K- Ty Long, Fr., UAB P- Richie Leone, So., Houston P- Tom Hornsey, So., Memphis KR- Vernon Frazier, Sr., UTEP PR- Richard Crawford, Sr., SMU PR- Derrick Strozier, So., Tulane LS- Tyson Gale, Sr., Marshall LS- Creighton Nelms, Sr., Southern Miss LS- Bo Abbott, Sr., Tulsa


Offense QB Blake Bortles UCF RB Travon Van Marshall RB Jamal Woodyard Southern Miss OL Rowdy Harper Houston OL Chris Jasperse Marshall OL Drew Carroll Rice OL Torrian Wilson UCF OL Jarel Watkins UTEP TE Eric Tomlinson UTEP WR Justin Hardy East Carolina WR J.J. Worton UCF

Defense DL Eric Braswell Houston DL Rakeem Nunez Southern Miss DL Michael Pierce Tulane DL Brentom Todd Tulsa LB Jeremy Grove East Carolina LB Derrick Mathews Houston LB Troy Gray UCF DB Bryce Callahan Rice DB Tray Becton-Martin Southern Miss DB Kwame Sexton Tulsa DB Clayton Geathers UCF

Special Teams K Ty Long UAB P Cole Way Tulsa KR Rannell Hall UCF PR Mario Hull Rice

Source: UTEP Athletics

Article Topic Follows: News

Jump to comments ↓

Author Profile Photo



KVIA ABC 7 is committed to providing a forum for civil and constructive conversation.

Please keep your comments respectful and relevant. You can review our Community Guidelines by clicking here

If you would like to share a story idea, please submit it here.

Skip to content