Skip to Content

2016 El Paso Athletic Hall of Fame inductees announced

EL PASO – An El Paso football legend, world champion boxer, and bodybuilder headline the list of inductees voted into the 2016 El Paso Athletic Hall of Fame tonight.

Andress High School, UTEP and NFL football star Brian Young will be inducted in May. Joining Young in the athlete category are El Paso’s first world champion boxer Jennifer Han and Bodybuilder Scott Stein.

Two coaches were voted in, Scott Brooks, Canutillo’s football coach who lead the Eagles to the state semi-finals and Anthony Morgan a longtime El Paso high school basketball coach who led Plano West to the Class 6A title last year.

The other 2016 inductees are Gabriel Hernandez in the Media/Supporter of Athletics category, Shawn Lehigh in the official category and deceased UTEP equipment manager Robert Rapanut in the posthumous category.

The induction is May 4th at Sunland Park Racetrack.

Article Topic Follows: News

Jump to comments ↓

Author Profile Photo



KVIA ABC 7 is committed to providing a forum for civil and constructive conversation.

Please keep your comments respectful and relevant. You can review our Community Guidelines by clicking here

If you would like to share a story idea, please submit it here.

Skip to content