Skip to Content

Baltic states ban vehicles with Russian license plates in line with EU sanctions interpretation

Associated Press

HELSINKI (AP) — Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania have banned vehicles with Russian license plates from entering their territory as part of the European Union’s recent new interpretation of sanctions against Moscow over its war on Ukraine. Estonia imposed the measure on Wednesday to match a similar decision by its southern neighbors Latvia and Lithuania earlier in the week. Estonia’s interior ministry says the joint action by the Baltic nations — which are all NATO members that border Russia — follows “the additional interpretation of the sanctions imposed on the Russian Federation published by the European Commission” earlier in September.

Article Topic Follows: AP-National

Jump to comments ↓

Associated Press


KVIA ABC 7 is committed to providing a forum for civil and constructive conversation.

Please keep your comments respectful and relevant. You can review our Community Guidelines by clicking here

If you would like to share a story idea, please submit it here.

Skip to content