Skip to Content

Locomotive FC fall in regular season finale to Tampa Bay, 3-1; El Paso eliminated from playoff contention

Courtesy: El Paso Locomotive FC

TAMPA BAY, Florida - The El Paso Locomotive FC couldn’t find the end result they were hoping for on the road against the two-time champions, Tampa Bay Rowdies.

The Locos would fall in the match by a final score of 3-1.

With Wednesday's loss, and the fact New Mexico United won their match against LA Galaxy II, the Locomotive FC have been eliminated from postseason contention.

This is the first time in the 4 year history of the Locomotive FC that the club failed to reach the postseason.

(Information below is courtesy of El Paso Locomotive FC)
Tampa Bay found the opener in the 16 minute of the match.

Their second of the night came after Goalkeeper Evan Newton stopped a close range shot that had an unfortunate bounce back into play, landing at the feet of a Tampa Bay attacker.

The Rowdies were awarded a penalty in the 68 minute but the pedigree and experience of Newton was on full display as the keeper stopped it in professional fashion. Newton recorded five saves on the night.
El Paso found one of their own in the 72 minute when defender Ander Egiluz put away a header off Midfielder Eric Calvillo’s corner kick to cut the deficit in half.

El Paso continued fighting to find the equalizer, but the Rowdies were able to grab the final goal of the night in the 90 minute of play.

The contest would end in favor of the home team 3-1.
Match: El Paso Locomotive v Tampa Bay Rowdies
Date and Time: October 12, 2022 @ 5:30 p.m. MT
Venue: Al Lang Stadium, St. Petersburg, FL
Scoring Summary                 1              2              F
El Paso Locomotive                0              1              1
Tampa Bay Rowdies              1              2              3
ELP – Liam Rose (Eric Calvillo) 72’
El Paso Locomotive FC (4-3-3): Evan Newton; Eder Borelli, Ander Egiluz (Martin Payares 76’), Matt Bahner (Artem Kholod 76’), Liam Rose; Richie Ryan, Diego Abarca (Joel Maldonado 45’), Eric Calvillo (Emmanuel Sonupe 76’) Aaron Gomez (Nick Hinds 71’), Chris Garcia (Ricardo Zacarias 45’), Lucho Solignac

Article Topic Follows: Texas Sports
Author Profile Photo

Adrian Ochoa

Adrian Ochoa is ABC-7’s Sports Director.


KVIA ABC 7 is committed to providing a forum for civil and constructive conversation.

Please keep your comments respectful and relevant. You can review our Community Guidelines by clicking here

If you would like to share a story idea, please submit it here.

Skip to content