Skip to Content
Remaining Ad Time Ad - 00:00

UTEP captures Sun Bowl Invitational title after defeating UC-Irvine, 67-61

EL PASO, Texas -- The UTEP Miners are champions of their own tournament once again.

On Tuesday night the Miners recaptured the Weststar Bank Don Haskins Sun Bowl Invitational title by defeating UC-Irvine, 67-61.

The last time the Miners won the Sun Bowl Invitational was back in 2014.

In the first half of the game, the Anteaters jumped out to an early 6-0 lead, but the Miners would get it going.

It was a great back and forth between both squads as they went into the half tied at 30.

Miners were able to pull away with less than a minute left in the game following a layup by UTEP's Bryson Williams.

The basket would give the Miners a 3-point lead with less than 50 seconds to go in the game, but the Anteaters were unable to respond.

The win improves UTEP's overall record to 8-1 on the season.

The Miners will now hit the road to take on the University of Houston on Thursday.

Author Profile Photo

Adrian Ochoa

Adrian Ochoa is ABC-7’s Sports Director.


Leave a Reply

Skip to content