Skip to Content

UTEP’s Buckram Nominated For Community Service Award

UTEP senior running back Donald Buckram is one of 112 student-athletes to be nominated for the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team.

The Allstate AFCA Good Works Team was created to tell the stories of the student-athletes who serve others in the community.

“In the third year of our partnership with the AFCA, Allstate, our employees and our agents continue to be inspired by the stories of class and character displayed by these young men,” said Guy Hill, vice president of sales and service for Allstate, who also serves on the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team voting panel. “We applaud the commitment of these 112 student-athletes to positively impact their communities with innovation, creativity and passion that reflects so well on their sport, and their respective institutions.”

This year’s class of nominations includes student-athletes with a wide range of accomplishments, including developing programs to support Haitian relief efforts, working with rural and minority students to help them reach their goal of attending medical school, and organizing a campus fundraiser to incentivize students to shave their heads to raise money for pediatric cancer research.

A special voting panel consisting of former Good Works Team members and prominent college football media members will be responsible for selecting two 11-player Good Works Teams ? one comprised of players from the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision and another representing players from the NCAA Football Championship Subdivision, Divisions II, III, and the NAIA ? to be announced in September.

“For the third straight year, the AFCA is pleased to partner with Allstate in highlighting football student-athletes who have achieved outstanding success, both on and off the football,” said Grant Teaff, AFCA Executive Director. “From the record total of nominees that were submitted from colleges and universities around the country, it is apparent that collegiate football is producing some of the best and brightest that our country has to offer.” will launch a customized Allstate AFCA Good Works Team web site featuring profiles and images of the final 22 award recipients, as well as unique and interactive content for college football fans. For the first time in the program’s history, fans will be able to vote for a Team Captain on

The following players have been nominated for consideration to be named to the 2010 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team®:

Football Bowl Subdivision (Div I-A)

Arizona State University ? Thomas Weber

Baylor University ? Robert Griffin

Bowling Green State University ? Ben Bojicic

Brigham Young University ? Riley Nelson

Central Michigan University ? Brian Bennyhoff

Clemson University ? Mason Cloy

Colorado State University ? Eugene Daniels

Duke University ? Bryan Morgan

Florida State University ? Christian Ponder

Georgia Institute of Technology ? Roddy Jones

Indiana University ? Ben Chappell

Iowa State University ? Alex Alvarez

Kansas State University ? Alex Hrebec

Marshall University ? Lee Smith

Michigan State University ? Kirk Cousins

Northern Illinois University ? Adam Kiel

Northwestern University ? Corbin Bryant

Ohio State University ? Bryant Browning

Oklahoma State University ? Andrew McGee

Penn State University ? Stefen Wisniewski

Purdue University ? Kyle Adams

Rice University ? Cheta Ozougwu

Rutgers University ? Howard Barbieri

Southern Methodist University ? Pete Fleps

Syracuse University ? Bud Tribbey

Temple University ? Amara Kamara

Texas A&M University ? Jerrod Johnson

Texas Christian University ? Tejay Johnson

Texas Tech University ? Baron Batch

University of Alabama ? John Michael Boswell

University of Connecticut ? Zach Hurd

University of Florida ? Jeff Demps

University of Idaho ? Tyrone Novikoff

University of Iowa ? Julian Vandervelde

University of Kansas ? Brad Thorson

University of Kentucky ? Randall Cobb

University of Memphis ? Dominik Riley

University of Mississippi ? Jerrell Powe

University of Missouri ? Dan Hoch

University of Nebraska-Lincoln ? Alex Henery

University of Nevada-Las Vegas ? Matt Murphy

University of North Carolina ? Robert Quinn

University of Notre Dame ? Dayne Crist

University of Oklahoma ? Quinton Carter

University of Pittsburgh ? Greg Romeus

University of South Carolina ? Cliff Matthews

University of Southern California ? D.J. Shoemate

University of Southern Mississippi ? Austin Davis

U.S. Naval Academy ? Ricky Dobbs

University of Tennessee ? Nick Reveiz

University of Texas-Austin ? Sam Acho

University of Texas-El Paso ? Donald Buckram

University of Toledo ? Colin McHugh

University of Virginia ? Ras-I Dowling

Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University ? Danny Coale

University of Wisconsin ? Scott Tolzien

Western Michigan University ? Nick Mitchell

Combined Divisions (FCS (I-AA) II, III & NAIA)

Augustana College (S.D.) ? Diego Oquendo

Bethel University (Minn.) ? David Vavra

Campbell University ? Charles Fiore

Campbellsville University (Ky.) ? Calvin Bini

Central Methodist University ? Matt Fraley

Centre College (Ky.) ? Jonathan Pinque

Charleston Southern University ? Jordan Lancaster

University of the Cumberlands (Ky.) ? Madison McCalmon

Davidson College ? John Behm

Drake University ? Ben Morrison

Eastern New Mexico University ? Jesse Poku

Eastern Oregon University ? Chris Ware

Elon University ? Khirey Walker

Ferrum College ? T.J. Grzesikowski

Frostburg State University ? Terryl Monroe

Heidelberg University ? Derrick Arbogast

Hillsdale College ? Kevin Hershock

Illinois Wesleyan University ? Eli Williams

Lindenwood University ? Billy Clark

Luther College ? Jordan Grimm

Methodist University ? Tyler Mosko

Millikin University ? Dion Wilson

Montana State University ? Tanner Ripley

North Dakota State University ? Matthew Gratzek

Northern Arizona University ? Mike Battisti

Northwestern State University ? Justin Aldredge

Ohio Northern University ? Kyle Simmons

Ouachita Baptist University ? Eli Cranor

Rowan University ? Matt Hoffman

St. John’s University (Minn.) ? John Stanton

Salisbury University ? Jamey McClendon

Samford University ? Jeremy Towns

Southern Illinois University ? Mike McElroy

Southwest Baptist University ? Steve Gachette

Tarleton State University ? Brandon Johnson

Texas A&M University-Kingsville ? DeIra Glover

Texas State University ? Steven Kenney

University of Dayton ? Dan Prindle

University of Delaware ? Siddiq Haynes

University of Dubuque ? Michael Zweifel

University of Mary Hardin-Baylor ? Max Taylor

University of Montana ? Andrew Selle

University of Rochester ? Conor McMahon

University of St. Thomas (Minn.) ? Ben Wartman

University of Wisconsin-Stout ? Patrick Mengelkoch

University of Wisconsin-Whitewater ? Aaron Rusch

Ursinus College ? Mike Rissmiller

Wartburg College ? Andrew Creary

Washington University (Mo.) ? John Schneider

Wayne State University (Mich.) ? Nick Thomas

Western Carolina University ? Chris Everett

Willamette University ? Scott Schoettgen

Winona State University ? Cody Dummer

Wittenberg University ? Jeremy Block

Youngstown State University ? Torrance Nicholson

Article Topic Follows: News

Jump to comments ↓

Author Profile Photo



KVIA ABC 7 is committed to providing a forum for civil and constructive conversation.

Please keep your comments respectful and relevant. You can review our Community Guidelines by clicking here

If you would like to share a story idea, please submit it here.

Skip to content