Skip to Content

Since El Paso Locomotive FC’s season ended, six players have departed

EL PASO, Texas -- El Paso Locomotive FC didn't qualify for the playoffs for the first time in fours year when they fell 3-1 to Tampa Bay Rowdies Wednesday. Since then six players have departed the Locomotive.

Defender Matt Bahner and midfielder Richie Ryan both announced their retirement from the game which means they are no longer with the team.

Then on Tuesday the Locomotive announced the departures of four more players - goalkeeper Evan Newton, backup goalkeeper Philipp Beigl, defender Shavon John-Brown and midfielder Christiano Francois.

When you combine those six with the other five whose loans are ending or that left midseason and the roster is becomes awfully thin.

In fact just 20 players who had playing time this season remain with the team but that is expected to change. ABC-7 has learned that more players are expected to depart before next season and while that may seem concerning to some, it also means the Locos will bring in a range of new players.

ABC-7 will keep you updated as more roster changes happen in the coming days, weeks and months.

Article Topic Follows: Locomotive FC

Jump to comments ↓

Author Profile Photo

Rachel Phillips

Rachel Phillips is the weekend sports anchor and reporter


KVIA ABC 7 is committed to providing a forum for civil and constructive conversation.

Please keep your comments respectful and relevant. You can review our Community Guidelines by clicking here

If you would like to share a story idea, please submit it here.

Skip to content