Skip to Content

Voters guide for El Paso, Doña Ana counties

A person holds an
Lakana file
A person holds an "I voted" sticker after casting a ballot.

Election Day is Tuesday in El Paso and Doña Ana counties. If you're not sure what will be on this year's ballot - or where to vote - we have you covered.

2019 ballot items for El Paso County residents:

City of El Paso, Representative, District No. 3:
Four candidates are running on the Nov. 5 ballot to represent District 3 on the El Paso City Council. District 3 represents parts of the Lower Valley and East El Paso. The seat is currently held by city Rep. Cassandra Hernandez. Other candidates include Ana M. Dunez, Will Veliz, and Brooks Vandivort.

City of El Paso, Proposition "A", Public Safety:
“The issuance of $413,122,650 general obligation bonds for public safety facilities including police department and fire department motor vehicles and equipment and that taxes sufficient to pay the principal of and interest on the bonds will be imposed.” Click here for more information on this bond issue, including what it will cost home owners in additional taxes.

Ysleta ISD bond proposition:
“The issuance of bonds in the amount of $425,000,000 for the designing, constructing, renovating, improving, acquiring, and equipping school facilities, and the purchase of the necessary sites for school facilities, and the purchase of new buses to transport students and the levying of the tax in payment thereof”

Lower Valley water district, Proposition A:
“The issuance of bonds in an amount not to exceed $27,500,000 for waterworks, sanitary sewer, storm sewer, and solid waste disposal systems and the levying of a tax in payment thereof.”

Town of Clint, Alderman:
Robert Fernandez
Patsy Franco

Village of Vinton, Mayor:
Ramon Diaz
Manuel “Manny” Leos

Village of Vinton Alderperson, Place no. 1:
Victor A. Carrejo
Jose Cordova

Village of Vinton Alderperson, Place no. 2:
Alfedo (Freddy) Lopez

Below is the list of the permanent polling locations in El Paso County...

Items on the ballot for Doña Ana election:

Ten people have filed to run for Las Cruces Mayor:

  • Mayor Ken Miyagishima (Incumbent)
  • Bev Courtney
  • Jesusita Dolores Lucero
  • Alexander Fresquez
  • Bill Mattiace
  • Gina Ortega
  • Jorge Sanchez
  • Greg Smith
  • Isabella Solis
  • Mike Tellez

Also on the ballot are three Las Cruces city council seats plus multiple board member spots in the school districts of Gadsden, Hatch and Las Cruces.

Las Cruces Public Schools also has a tax renewal measure on the ballot. If approved, it won't raise taxes. Click here to learn more.

For the first time, Las Cruces city residents need to rank their candidates in order of preference. Click here for a refresher on how the ranked-choice voting works.

Below is an interactive map showing the voting centers in Doña Ana County...

Article Topic Follows: Politics

Jump to comments ↓

Iris Lopez

Iris Lopez is a weathercaster and reporter for ABC-7.


KVIA ABC 7 is committed to providing a forum for civil and constructive conversation.

Please keep your comments respectful and relevant. You can review our Community Guidelines by clicking here

If you would like to share a story idea, please submit it here.

Skip to content