Skip to Content

Cowboys’ Prescott challenges Packers’ Jones for NFL Man of the Year honors

Dak Prescott and Aaron Jones.
File photos
Dak Prescott and Aaron Jones.

DALLAS, Texas -- Dallas Cowboys quarterback Dak Prescott joins Green Bay Packers running back Aaron Jones, an El Paso native, among the 32 men chosen as finalists for the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year award.

Each of the teams nominates one player for the prestigious honor named for the late Payton, a Hall of Fame running back for the Chicago Bears. The award recognizes a player for community service and excellence on the field. It has been given annually since 1970 and will be presented at NFL Honors, the TV show during which The Associated Press reveals its individual seasonal award winners.

Jones established the A&A All They Way Foundation with his twin brother Alvin, Jr. Among the initiatives of the foundation are football camps, turkey giveaways for families in El Paso and Green Bay as well as the Yard for Shoes campaign. For every yard that Jones rushes for, a pair of shoes will be donated to children at Boys & Girls Clubs in Wisconsin up to 1,000 yards.

The Cowboys are seeking recognition for Prescott's efforts with his Faith Fight Finish (FFF) Foundation, which focuses on three main initiatives: cancer research, suicide prevention/mental health awareness, and bridging the gap between law enforcement and the communities they serve.

Previous winners of the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year award among active players are Seattle Seahawks quarterback Russell Wilson in 2020; Baltimore Raven defensive linemen Calais Campbell (2019 with Jacksonville) and the Arizona Cardinals' J.J. Watt (2017 with Houston).

Here's the complete list of 2021 nominees:

  • Kelvin Beachum, Arizona
  • Mike Davis, Atlanta
  • Bradley Bozeman, Baltimore
  • Harrison Phillips, Buffalo
  • DJ Moore, Carolina
  • Jimmy Graham, Chicago
  • Sam Hubbard, Cincinnati
  • Denzel Ward, Cleveland
  • Dak Prescott, Dallas
  • Justin Simmons, Denver
  • Jason Cabinda, Detroit
  • Aaron Jones, Green Bay
  • Justin Reid, Houston
  • Kenny Moore II, Indianapolis
  • Myles Jack, Jacksonville
  • Tyrann Mathieu, Kansas City
  • Darren Waller, Las Vegas
  • Corey Linsley, Los Angeles Chargers
  • Andrew Whitworth, Los Angeles Rams
  • Jerome Baker, Miami
  • Anthony Barr, Minnesota
  • Lawrence Guy, New England
  • Cameron Jordan, New Orleans
  • Logan Ryan, New York Giants
  • Quinnen Williams, New York Jets
  • Jason Kelce, Philadelphia
  • Cameron Heyward, Pittsburgh
  • Arik Armstead, San Francisco
  • Tyler Lockett, Seattle
  • Mike Evans, Tampa Bay
  • Derrick Henry, Tennessee
  • Jonathan Allen, Washington
Article Topic Follows: Sports


Associated Press


KVIA ABC 7 is committed to providing a forum for civil and constructive conversation.

Please keep your comments respectful and relevant. You can review our Community Guidelines by clicking here

If you would like to share a story idea, please submit it here.

Skip to content